Introducing the 2023 Moontower Ball Award Finalists

Published: December 14, 2022

Our 2nd Annual Moontower Ball is right around the corner – happening February 4, 2023 at JW Marriott – and we are thrilled to announce the 2023 Notley Changemaker Award finalists. Without further ado, let’s dive into the awardees being selected across 8 categories:

Affordability Champion

Awarded to an individual or organization working to ensure Austin has more affordable housing.

David Steinwendell – CEO/Founder, Affordable Central Texas
Phyllis Snodgrass – Outgoing CEO, Austin Habitat for Humanity
Susan McDowell – CEO, Lifeworks
Nora Linares-Moeller – Executive Director, HousingWorks
Matt Mollica – Executive Director, ECHO
Robin Bruce – President, Dovetail Impact Foundation

Community Champion

Awarded to an individual who rolls up their sleeves and is directly involved in effecting change. 

Mike Nellis – CEO, Austin Community Foundation
Pamela Benson Owens – CEO, Six Square
Philip Speer – Founder, Comedor Run Club
Alice Yi – Chair, APAPA
Fayruz Benyousef – Founder/Principal, FBC
CJ Zhao – Founder, Austin Chinese-American Network

Innovative For Profit

Awarded to a company with a product or business model that is solving a community problem.

Everly Health
Diligent Robotics
Slingshot Aerospace

Innovative Nonprofit

Awarded to an organization with an innovative nonprofit model.

Asian Texans for Justice
Black Fret
Sunrise Homeless Navigation Center
Financial Health Pathways

Innovative Startup

Awarded to a startup with an innovative solution to a community problem.



Racial Justice Champion

Awarded to an impact organization working to address systemic racism.

Ashley Cheng – Founder/President, Asian Texans for Justice
Virginia Cumberbatch – Co-Founder, Rose Rebellion
Denise Hernandez – Travis County Court Judge
Terry P. Mitchell – Founder, The Black Fund / The Black Leaders Collective
Quincy Dunlap – President/CEO, Austin Area Urban League (AAUL)

Rising Changemaker

Awarded to an individual under 35 who has made an impact in both the for-profit and non-profit spaces.

Chris Harris – Director of Policy, Austin Justice Coalition
H. Drew Galloway – Founder/Executive Director, Bridge
Suhailah Waheed – Founder, Giving Geeks
Nico Ramsey – Senior Account Executive, ECPR Texas
Cynthia Munoz – Social Impact Associate, Indeed

We’re excited to see you in 2023!

For more information on the event, read the inaugural event recap and check out the Moontower Ball website!